Kincardine O Neil, Torphins & Lumphanan Area
Kincardine O Neil Torphins & Lumphanan Area – a pictorial guide to the Kincardine O’Neil area by dsider media & Bill Bagshaw Photography Courses.
Historic Kincardine O Neil
The ruined church at Kincardine O’Neil dates back to the 14th century and was built upon the site of the original church from the 5th century. The original Kincardine O’Neil church was established by Saint Erchard who in the 5th century bought Christianity to the area. The church was originally twice as long and was in part a hospital (founded somewhere around 1330). The church roof was originally made of thatched heather.
Torphins Church is a picturesque Germanic style church and dates back to 1875.
Torphins has several shops, and once had a railway station on the old Deeside Line
Lumphanan is where Macbeth was killed during his last stand.
In 1057 Macbeth the King of Scotland was killed in battle at Lumphanan by Malcolm Canmore, who became King Malcolm III of Scotland. The Peel Ring at Lumphanan is an ancient 13th century defensive structure. Donald Dinnie who was the son of a local stonemason; rose to prominence at The Aboyne Highland Games. Donald was famous for carrying 2 boulders over Potarch Bridge (see slideshow) and back. The Dinnie Stones remain outside the Potarch Hotel alongside the bridge; to this day.
Kincardine O’Neil, Lumphanan & Torphins Area Shops
Kincardine O’Neil has a variety of small shops and a petrol station. There is a co-operative shop at Torphins, with a petrol station just outside the village. Lumphanan has a village shop and a cafe.
Kincardine O’Neil, Lumphanan and Torphins Area Holiday Accommodation
Sandra & Murray, The Learney Arms Hotel, The Square, Torphins Tel: 013398 82202 Irene & Kenneth, The Old Toll House B&B, Pitmurchie Road, Kincardine O’Neil Tel: 01339884413 Contact us to get a free lineage listing of your Kincardine O’Neil & Torphins Area holiday accommodation here.